Foundational guide

What Is Retatrutide? Mechanism, Structure, Evidence Tier

Unusually for a compound sold this way, the human efficacy data are real and published. The missing piece is regulatory, not evidential.

Peptides Research Hub Editorial Team Published Aug 9, 2026 Last reviewed Aug 9, 2026 7 min read

What is retatrutide? An investigational drug developed by Eli Lilly that activates three receptors at once: the GIP receptor, the GLP-1 receptor and the glucagon receptor. Phase 2 results in humans were published in the New England Journal of Medicine in 2023 by Jastreboff et al., and the Phase 3 TRIUMPH programme is ongoing. It is approved nowhere.

That combination makes it the exception in this catalogue. Almost every compound covered on this site has a thin evidence base and an ambiguous legal position. This one has substantial published human efficacy data and an unambiguous legal position, which is that no regulator has authorised it.

Supplier publishing lot-level data

Retatrutide, Ascension Peptides

One certificate resolves for this lot, from MZ Biolabs, covering purity and quantity. The code below halves the listed price on either vial size.

Checkout codePEPTIDEDECK50% reduction
R-10 · 10 mg$80.00$40.00$4.00/mg10 mg presentation →
R-30 · 30 mg Best value$200.00$100.00$3.33/mg30 mg presentation →

The certificate that resolves for this compound is MZ Biolabs lot 03-01260229, reporting 99.94 percent purity and 11.67 mg against a 10 mg label, purity and quantity only, with no endotoxin or sterility screen. A second certificate is linked on the product page and does not load. Buying 3, 5 or 10 takes 3%, 5% or 10% off the list price. Free shipping starts at $250.

  • MZ Biolabs certificate, lot 03-01260229
  • Carriage free above $250
  • Dispatched same day before 2pm CST

What is retatrutide at the level the evidence supports

The compound is a synthetic agonist engineered to engage three receptors that the incretin and glucagon systems use. Two of those, GIP and GLP-1, are already the targets of approved medicines. The third, the glucagon receptor, is the addition that distinguishes this molecule from the drugs preceding it.

The rationale reported for adding glucagon receptor activity is that it may increase energy expenditure and mobilise fat stored in the liver, complementing the appetite and glycaemic effects of the other two. That is a mechanistic rationale for a design choice. It is not itself evidence that the third receptor contributed to the result observed, which would require comparison against agents lacking it.

It is also worth noting what triple agonism does not mean. Engaging three receptors is not the same as being three times as effective, and the receptors were not chosen because more is better. Glucagon receptor agonism in isolation raises blood glucose, which is the opposite of what a metabolic drug is usually trying to do, and the design bet is that combining it with GLP-1 and GIP activity harnesses the energy expenditure effect while the other two components offset the glycaemic one. Whether that balance holds across a broad population over long periods is precisely the kind of question a Phase 3 programme exists to answer.

Investigational is a status, not a synonym for unstudied

The word investigational describes where a compound sits in a regulatory process, and it is regularly misread in both directions.

Read one way, it suggests nothing is known. That is wrong here. A Phase 2 trial in humans was conducted, completed, analysed and published in a leading medical journal, and the results have been publicly available for years.

Read the other way, it is treated as a formality standing between a proven drug and its inevitable approval. That is also wrong. Phase 3 exists because Phase 2 results do not always survive testing at larger scale, over longer periods, in broader populations, against harder endpoints. Compounds have failed at that stage after promising earlier data, and the TRIUMPH programme has not reported.

What the published Phase 2 report establishes

The trial enrolled adults with obesity and administered the compound by subcutaneous injection over a 48 week period, with doses escalated in steps rather than started at their final value. The published report describes roughly 24 percent mean weight reduction at 48 weeks at the highest dose studied, 12 mg.

Stating what that figure is a claim about matters more than repeating it. It is a group mean, not an individual outcome, and individuals within the trial varied around it. It applies to the population enrolled, under the conditions studied, at that timepoint. It was obtained with a manufactured product of verified identity and concentration, administered under supervision, alongside the monitoring and support a trial provides.

None of those qualifications diminishes the result. It is a large effect, published in a serious venue, and it should not be described with the hedging this site applies to compounds with no human data at all. The qualifications describe what the number is attached to, which is a different matter from how much it is worth.

Two objects share the name

A reader encounters this name in two contexts, and they refer to different physical material.

The first is the trial product: manufactured to pharmaceutical standards, with identity, purity and concentration verified, supplied in known containers to investigators, administered to enrolled participants under a written protocol.

The second is a vial bought online. It carries the same name and nothing else in that list is established. Whether it contains the compound, at what concentration, with what impurities, and whether it is sterile are all open questions answerable only by testing that specific batch.

The published result belongs to the first object. Transferring it to the second requires assuming the two are the same, and there is no approval pathway, no pharmacy chain and no regulator standing behind that assumption.

This is the specific way an unapproved compound with good data is more hazardous to write about than one with none. Where no human evidence exists, the honest description discourages action by itself. Here the honest description of the molecule is genuinely favourable, and a reader who accepts it has been given a real reason to want the drug and no legitimate way to obtain it. The gap that opens between those two facts is where an entire grey market operates, and nothing in the published literature speaks to what fills it.

Where the evidence tiers actually fall

Applying this site’s usual grading produces an unusual distribution for this compound, and setting it out explicitly prevents the strong rows from lending their standing to the weak ones.

The efficacy claim sits at the top tier: a randomised trial in humans, published in full, retrievable and readable. The adverse event profile from that trial sits at the same tier for the period and population studied. The pharmacology of triple receptor engagement is established preclinical work. The contribution of any individual receptor to the clinical result is a design rationale rather than a measured quantity. Long term safety, durability after stopping, and performance against approved comparators are not established, and their absence is a matter of what has not yet been done rather than of what has been tried and failed.

Each attribute of this compound, its status, and the type of evidence standing behind it
AttributeStatusEvidence type
Triple agonist at GIP, GLP-1 and glucagon receptorsEstablishedPharmacology and development record
Substantial mean weight reduction over 48 weeksEstablished for adults with obesity in the trialPublished Phase 2 human trial
Gastrointestinal effects most common, dose relatedReported for trial participantsPublished Phase 2 human trial
Contribution of the glucagon receptor specificallyNot isolatedMechanistic rationale, not a head to head result
Durability of effect beyond the studied periodNot establishedOutside the observation window
Long term safetyNot establishedRequires Phase 3 scale and post-marketing surveillance
Marketing authorisation anywhereNoneNo regulator has approved it
Contents of any vial sold outside the trialUnknownRequires batch testing

Structural specifics this article does not print

No sequence, molecular weight or formula appears above. For compounds sold online those values propagate by copying, and a transcription error becomes consensus quickly. Nothing in a reader’s assessment of a claim depends on them.

What does the assessing is the shorter list this article has applied throughout. Which organism produced the result, whether the study can be retrieved and read, whether a comparison group existed, what timepoint the number belongs to, and whether the material in question is the material that was studied. For this compound the first four questions return unusually good answers and the fifth returns none at all.

Frequently asked questions

Is retatrutide approved anywhere?
No. It has no marketing authorisation in any market. No prescription route exists and no pharmacy can dispense it, because there is no approved product to dispense.
Does published human evidence exist?
Yes. Phase 2 results in humans were published in the New England Journal of Medicine in 2023 by Jastreboff et al. This is the unusual case in which a compound sold as a research chemical has genuine published human efficacy data behind the molecule.
If the data are real, why is it not available?
Because approval is a separate process from publication. A regulator assesses manufacturing, preclinical work, the full trial datasets rather than the published summary, and the balance of benefit against risk, and that assessment follows Phase 3. The gap here is regulatory rather than evidential.
Is it the same class as the approved incretin drugs?
It is related and not identical. It shares GLP-1 and GIP receptor activity with approved agents and adds glucagon receptor agonism, which those agents do not have. Class membership implies some shared properties and does not transfer approval or safety information.
Does the published result apply to material bought online?
Only if that material is the same compound at the stated concentration and purity, which nothing establishes. The trial result is attached to a verified pharmaceutical product, and a name printed on a label is not verification.

Limitations of the evidence

This page prints no sequence, molecular weight or formula, because those values propagate by copying and a transcription error becomes consensus quickly. Retatrutide holds no marketing authorisation in any market, no prescription route exists and no pharmacy can dispense it. The published Phase 2 figure is a group mean for adults with obesity enrolled in that trial, at one timepoint, obtained with a manufactured product of verified identity and concentration administered under supervision, and individuals within the trial varied around it. The contribution of the glucagon receptor specifically is a design rationale rather than a measured quantity, and durability beyond the studied period, long term safety and performance against approved comparators are not established. The Phase 3 TRIUMPH programme is ongoing and has not reported. The contents of any vial sold outside the trial supply chain are unknown and answerable only by testing that batch. Nothing here describes or recommends human use.